Hails and Farewells: Ups and Downs of Absences

The husband and I said another goodbye today.

Training going from today through March 25.  A good 5 weeks of separation, and hopefully a little visit somewhere in there.

Now, honestly, this isn’t a humongous deal.  We were parted for 13 weeks back in 2009 for training, then again in 2010 for 4 weeks of training, so this isn’t a huge deal nor unexpected.  Still, who likes saying goodbye to their life partner for days on end?  You don’t marry them, hopefully, to relish the time they’re away.

Now, I don’t like to whine about this, except of course on this blog and in limited quantities when speaking to people about my husband’s absence.  I don’t like to bitch like some women do.  After all, I willingly let the husband do this.

(As an aside, we did this whole Air Force life thing after we were married.  I married a man in graduate school who later decided that he wanted to go for the dream of joining the military.  I seem to be unique in that I didn’t know what I was getting into, like many women, who say they married a military man.)

I used to read Facebook status updates of women online weeping because their husband was gone.  I can really empathize with it but I’m not sure what good it does to abuse the FB system of wringing out the sympathy vote.  It makes me judge you, possibly, because it seems like a plea for attention for negative reasons.

Anyways, we are all in this together.  When I hear a wife say the husband’s gone I pretty much know what’s happening inside and she doesn’t need to give me a blow by blow account of it on a social networking site.

I think what makes goodbyes better is spending quality time together.  A and I spent a fabulous weekend walking around Atlanta and eating lots of fantastic food, visiting the Coca-cola museum, aquarium, strolling, talking and enjoying each others’ company.  I love that guy.

It’s been said many times that absence makes the heart grow fonder.  Not fonder, exactly, but more attuned to the nuances of the one you love.  I see the dimples, the twinkle in his eye, his optimism, when he’s gone more keenly.  He’s my everything.

Leave a Reply

